Graduates of Diocese’s Catholic High Schools Offered More Than $19 Million in Scholarships

WEST VIRGINIA—Members of the 2015 graduating classes of the Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston’s seven Catholic high schools across West Virginia were collectively offered more than $19 million in scholarships. The newly graduated of Madonna High School in Weirton, Bishop Donahue Memorial High School in McMechen, Central Catholic High School in Wheeling, Notre Dame High School in Clarksburg, St. Joseph Central Catholic High School in Huntington, Parkersburg Catholic High School and Charleston Catholic High School will be attending over 60 different colleges and universities throughout the country this year.

“I have been so very impressed with the Catholic identity and academic rigor of our seven high schools upon my visits this year. It is no surprise to me that the monetary value of the scholarships awarded is phenomenal, and the colleges and universities that accepted our students are of the highest quality,” said Dr. Vincent de Paul Schmidt, superintendent of schools of the Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston. “Our students are a great reflection of their parents’ desire for high academic achievement, social awareness and living faith-filled lives. We are proud of our graduates, confident in their future and thankful that our Catholic schools played a significant role in their development.”

This year’s graduates were accepted to a wide range of colleges and universities across the U.S. including St. Louis University, Vanderbilt University, Wake Forest University, Rhodes College, Emory University, Purdue University, New York University, Carnegie-Mellon University, University of Notre Dame, Washington & Jefferson College, University of Tampa, Rutgers University, University of Indiana, The Catholic University of America, University of Pittsburgh, University of Alabama, University of Virginia, University of South Carolina, University of Dayton, Coastal Carolina University, Xavier University, Washington & Lee University, University of Kentucky, Pennsylvania State University, Furman University, Kent State University, Drexel University, Loyola Marymount University, University of Toledo, George Mason University, Butler University, University of Arkansas, University of Rochester, University of Minnesota, John Carroll University, Kenyon University, Otterbein University, Old Dominion University, Virginia Tech University, University of Tampa, Belmont University, University of California-San Diego, University of Louisville, Oklahoma State University, Case Western Reserve University, The Ohio State University, Westminster College, Arizona State University, Johns Hopkins University, Gannon University, Wofford College, Full Sail University, Wooster College, High Point University, Roanoke College, Samford University, University of Cincinnati, Southern Methodist University, Point Park University, Concordia University, Bowling Green University, Texas Christian University, and the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Schmidt said that a number of this year’s graduates are also recipients of the West Virginia Promise Scholarship and will pursue studies in West Virginia at West Virginia University, West Liberty University, University of Charleston, Fairmont State University, West Virginia Wesleyan College, Alderson Broaddus University, Bethany College, and Marshall University. Additionally, some members of the class of 2015 will be attending Wheeling Jesuit University, the state’s only Catholic institution of higher education.